• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Changing rotors and pads- any problems to expect?

HenryKrinkle

NAXJA Forum User
Getting new raysbestos rotors and pads soon. I have been noticing a slight pulsing just after rain- when brakes are really grabby. I have no idea when the front brakes were last worked on.

Any tips as to what I might run into? It seems straightforward (2 caliper bolts each-swap parts), but I like to plan as I'll be doing after work and don't want to get stranded after hours.

They've lasted me about a year pretty well. The rears were done by a shop immediately after I bought it. I did a '96 booster/master swap into this '88.

Thanks for any advice...

Should be pretty straightforward. You should polish and lube the surfaces that the ears of the pads slide on. Sometimes they will develop a divot and cause the pads to hang up. If you can see a divot starting to form, smooth it out now before it gets any worse.

Also, depending on how worn your old pads are, you may need a way to remove some brake fluid from the system as well. I had to remove 3-4oz of fluid from the reservoir, but my old pads had 90K miles on them...

Its pretty straight forward. Just use some white lithium grease on all metal to metal contact areas where the pads slide in and make sure you make sure the caliper slides move freely. Take them out and clean/re-grease them

I did my own first brake job using cheap chinese autozone rotors about nine years ago... and they're STILL holding up just great...! Though I recently (last month) had to change out the pads... I HIGHLY recommend a random orbital sander with emery paper. Works AWESOME on clutches too.