• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New to me 88 XJ Laredo (warning long and pic heavy)

gunner8989

NAXJA Forum User
Well lets first start off with myself I am very new to all this. For a year and a half I have owned a JK. Bought it brand new with all the bells and whistles. I will probably eventually sell it hence want to leave it stock, but I felt the urge to throw on a lift kit and "big meats". So I decided to go with something a little older that I can work on my own and not be to scared to mess it up a bit.

My background:
- not very mechanically inclined most ever has been oil change and radio installs but eager and willing to learn
- have been on this site and others trying to educate myself on 4x4 mods
- have some welding experience
- only ever been wheelin on a quad and drove through some fields in my JK

Ok with that out of the way lets get to my "new to me" xj and let me know what yall think!!

I want to give my JK a rest put almost 40,000 miles on it in a year and a half. So I want my XJ to be my daily driver and play thing and the JK to be like a weekender and nice day ride.

XJ
Faded Gray
88 laredo totally stock with ziebart rust proofing (tar like substance all over the underside)
148,000 miles
4.0L (242 Cu. In.) 6-Cylinder
Automatic (not sure on which auto tranny)
I used the vin decoder I found on jeepfan and the part of the vin number that indicates the tranny is not on the decoder list the letter of the vin that denotes tranny is a R if anyone knows what that indicates
4WD Cherokee Wagon 4-Door
Bought it down in Maryland for $1275 maybe some of you guys saw this one on ebay
New water Pump
New Brake Power Booster
New Front Shocks (but they look old and rear leafs are flat)