• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Folding light bar - roof rack

Red2000

NAXJA Forum User
I've been in the concept design stage for quite a while on this and would like some opinions and maybe pictures.

I can not weld and that is not an option so please suggest other options.

I am a broke college student please do not suggest expensive products as the goal is a homemade prodcut.

I plane to build a rectangular frame out of steel angle (Brother can get for free) or similar material bolted together and attach it to the factory cross bars. The floor material has not be decided on yet, possibly 1x4's painted black or maybe some sort of mesh metal if I can get my hands on it. I want this to basically be a flat platform so that it remains very low profile and is able to carry almost anything properly tied down. Any other suggestions for low cost, non-welded frame? What about floor options?

I have 4 lights for the front and 2 for the back. The 2 for the back are low profile and will be mounted on the bottom side of the rack . The 4 for the front I would like to be able to flip down. I would also like some sort of wind fairing, this might help with noise and aerodynamics but the main reason is aesthetic, to hide the lights from the front view while in the down position. I have some ideas with a hinge and pins system but am still very open to ideas. Has anyone made something like this before?

I currently have 2 factory cross rails that this rack will be mounted to. I am thinking I should get at least 1 or 2 more to help spread out the weight. How much is too much for whatever I make plus attachments (lights, bike mounts, etc.) to weight?

Please share any homemade racks that are not welded, have a homemade wind fairing that goes from rack to roof (or close), or a folding light bar.