• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Cheapest Recovery?

Mihogan

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys. I'm somewhat new to the Jeep world and I need some cheap recovery for my Cherokee.

I've looked into front tow hooks, but it seems like that would cost me around $90, plus even after watching videos and reading writeups, I am afraid to remove the front bumper and do all of the work required for the front hooks.

I thought a hitch would be better, because i feel much more comfortable installing one of those myself, but it still would cost me around $90 - money I don't have and regardless of time, I will not be able to spend that much on something like that.

So does anyone know a cheaper way of recovery? Maybe something like a rear tow hook, that would just bolt up there and be relatively cheap?

Thanks in advance ;)

Bit of a problem: "Cheep" and "Safe" don't really mix with "Cherokee recovery points"
It's because of the unit body structure. All sheet metal, all the time. No heavy frame to bolt things to.

In the rear, a Class III hitch works well. Also, because of the way the mounts are designed, they also provide a place to mount tow hooks or shackles if you want them.

Up front, there is no easy solution. The MINIMUM would be the factory brackets. They also have the advantage of bending before the frame does. There are several aftermarket bolt on style brackets available.

Anything you put up there is going to require removing the bumper, but don't let that worry you. Bumper removal is easy, and you're not tearing into anything that will kill the wagon.
Good luck.

Anything you put up there is going to require removing the bumper, but don't let that worry you. Bumper removal is easy, and you're not tearing into anything that will kill the wagon.
Good luck.