• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Durabak the exterior of my XJ?

climbingbum

NAXJA Forum User
Is it possible or even a good idea to use some sort of bedliner like Durabak on the exterior of my XJ? I just finished sanding my down and was just going to slap on some Krylon rattle can but now im thinking i should with something more heavy duty.

Yep, totally possible. A few things to consider, though:
A lot of bed lining products will fade to gray under sunlight. Read up on bed liners here, a lot of guys like Raptor Liner.
The outside of your XJ will be sandpaper. Leaning on it, brushing past it, etc will be abrasive.
Most of these products are black. A black XJ? In Arizona? You might consider shooting a lighter color on top of the liner, though I have no experience there.
Bed lining the exterior of your rig sounds fine as far as durability. You probably won't ever re paint it again, if you do the prep work.

Another vote for U-Pol Raptor. I have Herc on mine, and it is fading/ deteriorating a bit. My dad's cousin used Raptor on the bed of his little "japanese truck" that he uses for hunting. It is defenitly a harder bedliner, a lot more plasticy, and was smoother than my rolled on Herc.

I painted my xj with Durabak about 3 years ago works great comes in colors but it does fade and it takes 1 and 1/2 gal.also what ever you open you should use up it does'nt keep well.I saw something new at 4 wheel parts show called al's liner looks good also.

i know its expensive, but look into POR15, they got all kinds of stuff, and its rock hard. I have it on all my skids, and its held up great. however, the epoxy, which is just clear, will turn yellow. oh and did I mention that it is uber expensive?