• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Exhaust Recommendations

reson46

NAXJA Forum User
I am looking for recommendations on a complete exhaust system, headers, catalytic converter, muffler, etc. My exhaust manifold is cracked and my muffler has taken a beating, so, sounds like the perfect time for an upgrade. :D

What are you guys using and how do you like it? What is the best system for the money?

If I had to choose, I would rather have better low end torque than high end horsepower.

Thanks,

Since low rev torque is what you want, stick to the 2.25" pipe size. Here's what I suggest:

Borla stainless steel header
Carsound 2.25" high-flow cat
Magnaflow 2.25" muffler
Stock tailpipe with weld-on tip

I've done 91k miles with my Borla header and had no problems at all. It fits like a glove. I have a Flowmaster muffler which sounds really badass and is as tough as nails, but it drones too much at 2500-3000rpm. The Magnaflow doesn't drone as much but still rumbles at idle like a V8, and it's very well put together. There's also the option of stainless steel.
I also have a 3" single Pacesetter Monza chrome tip with resonator (Summit Racing) on my stock tailpipe.

I can only give my opinion on exhaust, but I have a Gibson 2.5" cat-back system on mine. I did notice some power gains from it, but probably more in the mid to upper rpm range. One problem I have with my Gibson is the muffler is a cylinder and sticks down pretty far which makes it prone to getting nailed, but from what I have seen it looks like they might have changed the shape of their muffler so it might not be a problem anymore. All in all I do like mine.