• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Rusty's Intake tube

XJ4Christ

NAXJA Forum User
forgot to change title for cooling questions as well sorry :).

First question is about the Rusty's intake tube/air filter

Anyone happen to know what size the thing is diameter wise so i know if i can find a cheaper filter at Autozone than the K&N one they want to sell?

Also as this is my first time messing with a renix cooling system (1990 4.0) and sort of learning how to become a mechanic at same time lol.. the hoses apparently are leaving a bunch of junk in my coolant. I opened the drain to drain the coolant as I want to replace the hoses and the thermostat (was overheating at idle randomly.) and drill holes in it as i have read on here :). i noticed the upper hose had a leak (dirt around bottom of it) and then noticed black junk in the coolant as well. When the radiator drained it drained out slowly... is that normal? I was hoping for alot more flow to drain that black junk out. I figure i can put some water in there and flush.. but not sure how that will be if not much flow.. i am guessing some of that black hose junk blocking the drain plug. I also noticed some radator fluid around the closed system bottle so i read it needs to be sealed and i guess i need to get a new cap too. I also believe that i need to remove the serpentine belt just to get to the bottom bolt of the therm stat. Is there a trick or i have to take it off? :). I tried to push it down with a screwdriver to get at it with a wrench and that did not seem to want to work.