• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Headlamp upgrade: Sealed Beam -> H4

maalox

NAXJA Forum User
I know that lighting upgrades are a very popular modification for most of us, but I wanted to share my upgrade and the results. I will preface this by saying that I am relatively new to domestic vehicles, but not to vehicle modifications. I have always upgraded the lighting on my vehicles to ECE standards, as the lighting regulations and equipment in Europe are FAR superior to the sub-par trash we get here. Thank you FMVSS 108. (n) So, when I bought my XJ, I looked into the available options for upgrading the stock headlamps(because we all know they suck). The offerings from Delta and Rampage looked too much like the cheesy aftermarket lights found on modified Hondas, and the IPF lights did not offer the built-in city light feature. So I held out until I found drop-in 200mm units from Hella. They've got the correct fluted glass lens with the proper ECE markings, take a replaceable H4 bulb, and are set up for city lights. The fit directly into the buckets already on our trucks, and they look like this:

h4lamp.JPG

Here you can see the difference in the lenses and housings(sealed beam on the left, Hella H4 on the right):

h4vssealed01.JPG

h4vssealed02.JPG

Now, I had already upgraded the headlamp wiring, which is necessary to go with the more powerful 80/100w bulbs I am using in the H4s. You can run standard 55/60w bulbs in the H4 housings without doing a wiring upgrade, but I highly recommend going the extra step so you can use the higher wattage bulbs. Here is a comparison on the sealed beam lamps vs the H4 lamps on low beam:

Sealed Beam -
sealedlowbeam.JPG

H4 -
h4lowbeam.JPG