• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Pro Comp 3" Lift Kit?? Anyone Use it??

wbarber

NAXJA Forum User
I am getting a Pro Comp 3" Lift kit for pretty cheap, and was wanting to know if anyone has used it before or has heard anything bad about it. I am getting the 3" with the mx-6 shocks. I am new to the xj world, but am wanting to do things right the first time and not spend money on junk, but this is my daily driver, and will haul a boat in summer time, so don't want to go too high. Any comments and help are welcome. Thanks.

I have a procomp 3" lift kit sitting in the back of my truck.

I had a hard time giving it away. Add another brand adjustable trackbar to your list, and then count on swapping out the springs front and rear later, maybe all 4 control arms, add some extended brake lines..

cal said:
I have a procomp 3" lift kit sitting in the back of my truck.

I had a hard time giving it away. Add another brand adjustable trackbar to your list, and then count on swapping out the springs front and rear later, maybe all 4 control arms, add some extended brake lines..
I had that procomp lift to. One word, JUNK. I can't give it away either. The front springs are too stiff, the rear add-a-leafs was to short to properly support the spring pack too. Ruined my stock rear spring pack and made it S shaped. The trackbar relocation bracket hung down low and had crappy geometry. The resulting ride was very harsh and bumpsteer was a big problem.

With that said go take a look at rubicon express. They have flexy coils and offer a full length add-a-leaf that will ride better than the projunk kit. You can also easily upgrade this kit by buying an adjustable trackbar or a full leaf pack. IMHO shop around and compare the parts and quality of them. Don't buy the projunky riding suspension.