• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Should I buy five new tires? Who does a 5 tire rotation?

UltimateG

NAXJA Forum User
I'm no tire expert, but I think I like the idea of having a fifth tire to throw into the rotation. At least, it seems to make sense to me to always have a spare that is a perfect match to the rest of the vehicle. Since I can afford it this month, it feel like I'd get my money's worth out of it by driving another 25% farther before buying new tires. (unlike a cheapo spare, which I would buy, but probably never get any use out of). And if one tire somehow gets shredded, then I won't have to go through the trouble of looking around to buy a similar tire to replace it with.

I just installed four new tires, would it be worthwhile to buy a fifth to put on the back?

Aside from the cost, are there any drawbacks to rotating five tires, or any problem with switching a radial from one side to another?

94 XJ, daily driver, all stock
Tire: Firestone destination AT

Last edited:
just find a cheapo that is the same size. i find a full size spare to be of the most importance over the tire being the same exact tire. its one of those things i never plan to use, kind of a "better to have it and not need it than need it and not have it" metality.

hell... my first cherokee still has the brand new goodyear that came with it from the factory. still holds air, and has never seen the road. do i trust it, idk. its 12 years old. haha.

I always buy 5 and rotate.It gives you the best overall lifespan.Ive never(on my Jeeps) worn out a tire,they always get pulled due to sidewall cuts and shreading lugs.As tires fail you always have a new one to rotate into the group till the next failure!