• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

My xj runs horribly :beatdeadhorse:

hghgrad

NAXJA Forum User
My question: I have 2 XJ's...a renix 89 and a 97 HO

I have a renix cherokee and there is a site listing all the resistances/test procedures for the renix sensors. It's a wonderful resource.

Is there any such resource for my new to me 97? It ran wonderfully when I got it a few days ago, but it's recently developed an extremely rough idle. It's dumping fuel like it's nobody's business. When i take it out it will clear up after a few minutes and smooths right out. Pull it back into the garage thinking I'm a master mechanic and it starts to get rough again after a moment. There's also a distinct noticeable increase in air flow in the air box during all this.

I changed plugs/wires/cap/rotor after it started to bog out a little at light throttle. It seems to have gotten progressively worse. I cleaned the IAC, and there's no change in idle at all when I un plug it when it's running rough.

I was really hoping to start swapping some of the lift parts around tonight, but it looks like I'll be racking my brain trying to get this diagnosed instead.

I don't have a scanner at my disposal at this very moment and I'd like to check things before I start throwing parts at it.

Assuming no check engine light? If so, pull codes for guidance. Even if one isn't on now, there can sometimes be stored codes which can yield clues. An actual scan tool can not only read codes but can be very valuable for checking data real time on your 4.0