• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

What do you think? 1999 Cherokee for $1200..

dstef1605

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys, I am fairly new to this fourm, but have owned several Jeep vehicles in the past, so I am familiar with a few things that is typically seen on the Cherokees such as RMS leaks, NSS problems, etc. However, here is what I am looking at buying. I have the opportunity to buy a 1999 Cherokee 4.0, 4x4 with 162,000 miles on it for about $1200.00. The vehicle is in pretty good shape other than being a little bit dirty on the interior and needing a new windshield replaced. I do not have a huge amount of history for this car available to me do to it being a repo from my local credit union. I have not been able to do more than lot drive this Jeep, but I was able to determine that the four wheel drive does work and the transmission was able to shift from 1 to 2 in the distance that I was able to drive. The engine sounds really good and does not appear to have any leaks underneath. I am wondering if you guys think that this is too much money for the miles or if you would consider purchasing it. Also, does anybody have any ideas of anything that I should be aware of or should look at on this car before I buy it?

Rust? no rust? No body/uniframe damage?

Buy it.

Even if you need it, a new transmission will run you maybe a few hundred, if you have mechanical skill you can do a clutch/seal rebuild for like $250 on an AW-4.

99 is the best year of the new-generation body design, too.