• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Frame rail question

saleen9973

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys i am new to xj's, I just picked up a 93 4 door for 300 bucks. It has rust everywhere. The rockers are shot, the floors are caving in and the doors have rust holes in them. I am not scared of rust i can fab and weld. This will be me trail rig. I was wondering if i cut all the floors out can i put some 2x2 steel tube inside the frame rails or should i just plate the outside of them? I plan on doing sliders a 4.5 inch rc lift and 32" tires and a locker in the 8.25. I will try to get pics of what my junl looks like. Thanks guys.

jeeppics027.jpg

jeeppics026.jpg

jeeppics025.jpg

jeeppics023.jpg

jeeppics022.jpg

That looks like a lot of rust. You may find out that the body is too trashed, but if the running gear is all solid it's still not a bad buy for $300.

Good luck.

Everything is solid drivetrain wise. I just drove it to walmart and it runs great except for the sloppy steering, I can move the wheel about 3 inches either way before the front wheels turn, not good. I plan on gutting the interior and removing the floors and welding in new floors, This will be my trail rig so rust is not a big problem.

Boat sides or rocker replacement with square stock are defiantly a must. Only thing that worries me is the floorboards form the top of the frame rail. If the floors are that far gon, the rails may be just as bad. The good news is, people here have replace just about every peice of an XJ except the roof(for unknown reasons, as a group, we tend to throw the roof away :D)

You're probably also looking at full frame rail plating, replacing the spring hanger boxes and shackle hanger boxes. Rust is never fun.