• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

misfiring... injector?

whatevah

It's Yellah!
I've been battling heat soak for a few months... I think. I didn't really have it in the summer, but since the switch to the winter fuel blend, I've had the symptoms of heat soak pretty badly. After a hot startup I'd get OBD errors P0303 and/or P0304 and P0300.

This morning though, it started misfiring while driving home from work. Ambient temp around 25*F, intake manifold air temp 98*F, driving around 35mph when I noticed the CEL/MIL flashing. I didn't even feel it misfiring, however I did after a few seconds and it got worse until I made it home (1/4mi). Checked the codes when I pulled into my driveway and it only showed P0305 (cylinder 5 misfire). I thought it was just a fluke, a sign saying I should buy hood vents today. After a bite to eat and time to let the engine cool off, I started driving to the junkyard and after a couple minutes the misfiring was back. Continuous misfiring, only showing the error code for cylinder 5.

After chatting with a friend, it seemed that a bad coil rail was the most likely problem, so I spent the $105 for it and waited for the engine to cool down and swapped it out (and took the opportunity to put in new spark plugs). Went out on a test drive and as the engine started warming up, it started misfiring. Drove back home and checked the codes, P0305 again. With the engine still running, I started unplugging the fuel injectors (one at a time) and for all except injector 5, there was a noticeable change in the engine (misfire-ish). This leads me to believe that injector 5 is bad. Anybody have a different opinion?