• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

looking to buy a xj

AS350b2

NAXJA Forum User
Hi all

I hope that I have posted this in the right place, and if not can you please let me know where so I can move it there.

I am new to Jeeps and XJ's, and also to this forum. I have chosen the XJ due to it's interior room. I want to be able to wheel with my wife and dog and still have room for all the other gear needed.

There is a mid 90's XJ for sale just down the road, it has a chrysler 8.25 in the rear and I'm guessing a Dana 30 in the front. It looks to have a couple of inch lift in it, the body looks great with no body damage. It is an Automatic, and I am not to sure about the engine. I still need to give the owner a call, though I was kinda waiting for the Christmas season was over.

Is there any thing that I should be looking for as a deal breaker. As well as any other hidden things that I would not think to look at.

Thankyou for all of your help

look for rust feel above the cat and the rear quarters! rust is hidden very well by the interior! you dont want a v6 or the 4 cyl you want the 4.0 I6. look for leaks, test drive it make sure it gets to operating temp 195 and let it idle after make sure you dont rush it. there are alot of Cherokees out there and rushing a test drive and inspection can cost you lots of money and time!

All had the Dana 30 in the front. The 4.0 is bulletproof with proper maintenance. The AW4 (automatic) is also excellent, most problems that occur with it are electrical. Biggest thing to look for is rust. Depending on your level of wheeling you may want to look for one that hasn't already been abused.