• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Low Idle??

CaliXJ

NAXJA Forum User
Ok before i start... I have searched and searched. Now i have come up with other idle issues, but not LOW idle issues.
Info: 91 cherokee H.O. 4.0, AW-4, NP231 (92,000 mi.) Now the problem i'm having is that the idle is about 450-475 RPM. Now things i have done so far is plugs, wires, cap, rotor, ect. Now i've read about AIC and replaced. Checked TPS. It doesn't seem to idle rough But i did notice what seems like a surge in the idle. Meaning idle from 475 to 450 rpms. Now it's not much but usually after trips on highway. Any thoughts would help. Noob here for sure! Thanks in advance!

have you ever replaced your fuel filter? it is near the back along the drivers side of the rim of the jeep. i ran into low and rough idle issues and replaced mine (original with 110K miles on it!) and it poured out brown rusty gas.

after that, i ran bottle of lucas oil in a half tank of gas to clean out the injectors.

may not be the cause of your problem, but for $10 and 10min of your time to change, it is well worth it.

good luck.

Yep! Got that one covered when i first bought it about 3,000 mi ago. No change. Was hoping to get better that 17 mpg highway was the initial reasoning for this.

You say you replaced the IAC, but did you clean the throttle body with particular attention to the IAC passageway?

If you are running rich, that will reduce your idle speed. What thermostat are you running--195 degree? Is the engine warming to about 200-210 degrees indicated on the gauge? Any cooling system mods? Have you tested the coolant temperature sensor for the ECU? How about the o2 sensor?

You say you replaced the IAC, but did you clean the throttle body with particular attention to the IAC passageway?