• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

performace throttle bodies?

calebhiatt

NAXJA Forum User
im new to xj's and im wondering if anyone knows what the biggest throttle body assembly can be put in a 91 to 96 xj and if it is really worth swapping out the stock one thanks

IMHO, bolt-on engine mods need to done in combinations/packages, especially on a computer control engine. i.e., if you open up the intake, you need to open up the exhaust.

The only improvement you might see with a bigger throttle body is better throttle response. It is not worth the expense of buying one and barely worth the time if you have the tools to bore out your own. Now if you have lots of other engine mods then it may be well worth the while.

Putting a 62mm on the stroker. Trailratethis does them with the stock TB. good deal too if you ask me.
Agreed about not needing it for the stock motor, but this one's hardly stock.

There is a guy over on cherokeeforum, that (match)ports stock TB's basically opens them up more for better flow. A different intake and/or K&N type air filter will make a difference (I prefer the Green Air Filter)

The limit is the intake manifold diameter. If I am not mistaken, it is 60 MM. This is the size of intake portion of the TB. Just bore it out full depth and it will match. The other trick is to remove the venturi in the intake tube, if you are using a stock intake system.
Although it is true that you should improve the exhaust when making a mod to the intake, I can vouch for the improved thottle response an reduced MPG.

Yeah I could be 2mm off. But there was a difference in response and lower MPG.. Whta the article did not addrss was the choke of the venturi in the intake tube.