• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New to the Forum, could use help and or additional resources.

white7mike

NAXJA Forum User
It's great to have found this forum. I'm a pretty novice mechanic, and I am looking to do the chassis greasing on my 98 XJ today and my Chiltons is being vague and perplexing me. I tried to find a sticky or something existing for this but I really need some additinal resources for a variety of maintence type stuff as I have this problem fairly often. Also would it be worth it for me to break down and buy a haynes manual? Any other literature that anyone would recomend? Any help would be greatly appreciated; Thank you.

If you buy a Haynes or Chilton manual for $16 ~ $20, you have wasted $16 ~ $20. They try and cover too many years, and don't do any of them well.

http://www.autobooksbishko.com/index.html is where you can buy Chryco LICENSED reprints of the genuine shop manuals, or you can buy the same manuals on CD (the CDs are the best way to go based on price).

You can hunt eBay for original print manuals, but finding your year and then bidding on them can get frustrating. Sometimes you will find original manuals on Craigslist in your local area, and they tend to be cheaper than eBay.

Don't waste your money on anything aftermarket, they aren't worth it, and please don't buy pirated materials.

That said, if you have a grease gun and a bright spotlight crawl under there and work your way from front to rear, left and right. Driveline slip joints, check the u-joints, check the axle u-joints on the front axle (may not be serviceable, don't panic if there aren't any fittings), and check around the front steering--again, not all joints are serviceable.