• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Eaton E Locker experience

Mike Axle

NAXJA Forum User
Does anyone have any personal experience with the new Eaton E locker? I am trying to decide weather to go with an ARB or the Eaton E locker.

front or rear axle???? the thing i dont like about the e locker is that it uses clutch packs for the limited slip but i have no experience with it.

I have the E-Locker in my BlaZeR-2 (8.5" 10 Bolt rear) and I really liked it.

I dont think it have the clutches, I believe that it just have the spider gears like a stock open carrier does but uses a few locking pins that drive into one side of the spider gear to lock/engage the carrier to act as a spool.

The locker will work great for you if you don put too big tires and or too much of power and don't engage while both tires' spinning at different speed.

The locker suits me just fine for what I need with my BlaZeR-2 which pretty much just a daily driver and a sand dunes toy. Other wise with my XJ I tend to push it harder so I would look for a stronger locker instead.

One thing I like the Eaton E-Locker that they have the huge advantage of dont need any air compressor crap to deal with. I just need to do some wiring and hook-up a relay and aswitch, DONE!

Last edited:
I have it in my BlaZeR-2 (8.5" 10 Bolt rear)

I love it, it locks great and I dont think it have the clutches, it basically have spider gears and uses pins that drive into one side of the spider gear to lock it.

If you respect it, it will do great for you.

BTW IIRC they arent the STRONGEST selectable locker available. ARB's suppose to be stronger.

for what i need with my BlaZeR-2, it suits me just fine, but with my XJ, probably not as I tend to push my XJ harder.