• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Radiator pressurized overflow?

XJ-Mayhem

NAXJA Member
NAXJA Member
I want to give my 90' 4.0 towing package included, with 180k a freshening up. My dash temp gauge barely reaches the halfway point at its hottest moments, but i still want to run cooler (i am aware TOO cool is not good for these motors however) because at times the hood is almost too hot to touch for opening which can maybe be attributed to the sun as well.

Within the next week I'm going to order an electric fan to replace the mechanical one. One from a 97+ is what I'm thinking of going with?
I am also considering putting in a new aluminum radiator, however I have never done this before but I think i can handle it. I'm assuming i will have to safely drain the system and then its mostly wrench work from there and some re-plumbing?

In my newbie ways i have kinda decided to just go with the aluminum one found in 97+ xj's, if i should go a different route please let me know.

When searching i found http://www.ironrockoffroad.com/Merc...en=PROD&Store_Code=IROR&Product_Code=IR-X_RAD
but what are they meaning i will have to do with my pressurized overflow? I searched :NAXJA: through google and only found two threads on the topic.

I want to give my 90' 4.0 towing package included, with 180k a freshening up. My dash temp gauge barely reaches the halfway point at its hottest moments, but i still want to run cooler (i am aware TOO cool is not good for these motors however) because at times the hood is almost too hot to touch for opening which can maybe be attributed to the sun as well.

Within the next week I'm going to order an electric fan to replace the mechanical one. One from a 97+ is what I'm thinking of going with?