• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Can i paint over stock paintjob if im keeping the same color?

jbcherokee

NAXJA Forum User
So I have a 99 2D chilipepper red XJ. I love it. The color is perfect and I want to possibly rice up my paintjob a bit as it has taken a beating from the brush and trees I run through when I am "exploring" the new hampshire backcountry.

I found a guy on another forum selling a gallon of Chrysler Chilipepper red paint for 150 bucks and I am wondering if thats going to be a good deal.

I have access to a spray painter but I have zero experience painting and have no idea what to do.

Can I just put another coat of paint over my current paintjob then more clear or is more prep work required (i.e. stripping stock paint).

If you don't know what you are doing or have someone with experience walking you through things step by step, I would not attempt it. I painted my first car in 1967. There are so many ways to screw it up and only one way to really do it right. The price on the paint isn't any big bargin. Remember you need reducer and activator, as well as clean up solvents. Any more I wouldn't paint with out a clear coat. What type of paint is it? Dupont? Acrylic Enamel? Multi-stage? What type of gun do you have available? How big is your compressor? Do you have a dehumidifier/water trap?

Where are you going to shoot it?

The amount of work envolved is surprising. Remember you also need to do the door jambs, door frames, under hood, etc. If the existing paint is good, never strip it off unless you want to triple the work and expense.

mmm see this is why i go to forums first.

Well I was basically just trying to touch up the semi-scratched paint i currently have not knowing how much work would be involved.