• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

At a loss... Cooling system

menos

NAXJA Forum User
I have been fighting a cooling system problem for about 2 years now that has, in my opinion gotten progressively worse. It will quickly heat up to 225-235 on the gauge. Hot weather and running the A/C makes the problem worse and will send it into the red.

The entire cooling system has been replaced.
-New 3-row Radiator barn radiator
-New water pump
-New hoses
-New thermostat
-New radiator cap
-New fan clutch
-New temp sending units
-New O2 sensor

Running out of options I thought the head gasket might be cracked so I replaced it. I had the head decked (12 thousandths :eek:) and checked out. Head was otherwise good, no cracks and the valves are good.

When I pulled the head I noticed that the pushrods for the #5 and #6 cylinders where very sludged up compared to the rest of the pushrods. It looked like the oil had been 'baked' on.

Current symptoms

From a cold soak the engine warms up very quickly, at least according to the gauge. I pulled my IR temp gun out and started shooting temps from the cold soak and this is what I found.
The dash gauge will show 230 before the thermostat (195) opens. At this point the head right by the thermostat housing is reading 190F. On the sparkplug side of the head the temps range from 180 by the #6 to 170 by the #1.
I've checked the sending unit with a multimeter and the values it is showing seem to confirm the dash gauge.
After warming up for a while the temps seem to be what I would expect. 200f at the thermostat housing. 195 at the radiator inlet. 165-170 at the outlet. Yet I'm seeing 230+ on the gauge.