• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Headlight Switch Replacement

McDuffers

NAXJA Forum User
Hi guys, Noob here, I recently got a 97 XJ sport and I'm wondering how to replace the pull switch.

The reason for doing so (in case you were wondering) is that my parking lights never work when I have the headlights on and the headlights will sometimes stay on for 10 minutes after I shut the switch off, this automatically pointed me to the switch it's self, as it has been for similar problems with other vehicles...

Am I just taking a shot in the dark and there are other things to look at, or is my assumption correct? Either way I need to know how to get the bugger in there...

It is pretty easy but can be a bugger to get your hands on. Just take your hand up under your dash right behind the switch. You'll find a perfect circle hole in a thick metal bracket. Push your finger in the hole until you find a small 1/4" sized metal button that is on the bottom of the switch. While holding that button pressed, pull out on the pull lever of the switch and it will come all the way out. It isn't hard to pull out so if it doesn't come right out for you then you are not pushing the button good. Once you have the triangle shafted pull lever then use a wide flat screw driver to unscrew the round nut with a hole in it that you just pulled the lever from. Once you unscrew that nut, the switch is free to pull out and disconnect. Hope this helps.

Question--is the headlights staying on a courtesy function in the 97?