• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Identify that leak and sound

HQuakers

NAXJA Forum User
So I'm a complete newb to Jeeps and 4x4s, and while under the car I noticed a slow leak or seeping coming from the front diff. where the driveshaft enters. No fluid is on the ground or dripping. I wasn't sure what this is called where it's coming from, or I would have searched on Naxja here for leaks at this location:

P8050148.jpg

P8050145.jpg

Also, I am getting an oscillating-type noise from the front end as well. This occurs at all speeds, but is louder when I'm driving faster (especially 65mph on the highway). It sounds similar to an unbalanced tire (which it could be), but I'm not sure if it's related to the leak above. I have two videos. First shows me rotating the driveshaft, but no back-and-forth play at all. Second is me driving...towards the end you can hear it a little bit over the tire noise.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Svjhg12axXE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YtwQckZa6JM

Thanks in advance for any help :roll:

Pinion seal

So I opened up the diff tonight and filled it back up with Lucas gear oil. Took about a 1/4 to 1/3 cup of fluid, so it wasn't extremely low. Man does that stuff smell. Anyway, took it for a little ride and it seems like the noise is a little less, but I won't be able to really tell until I get it on the highway tomorrow. Thanks again for the help everyone.