• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Newbie muffler question

Bdiddy11

NAXJA Forum User
So I replaced the exhaust manifold/downpipe on my 1996 auto...now the catback that's on there is an aftermarket (Flowmaster i believe), and the downpipe outlet is 2.5", and the pipe to the cat converter is 2.5" as well...how can I mate these up? Or do I need to get a new catback that slides into the outlet of the new downpipe?

I'm a newbie :doh:

on some applications the diameter is "the same" but may actually be flared slightly outward or inward depending on if that end is an inlet or outlet. so try checking for this even though both pipes may read as the same diameter. if both are actually exactly the same and won't mate at all, you could always consider a pipe expander (under ten bucks at harbor freight, but it was a POS and seized/broke in the expanded position inside my pipe; thus get a decent one somewhere else) or you could go the ghetto way and cut slits in the overlapping pipe so it goes on, then exhaust tape it or weld it

you either need a coupling that both pipes slip into, or flare one or the other so they slip together or i guess you couple butt weld them together in a pinch but not recommended....

Where would I get a coupling for it? Wouldn't it need to be like 2 3/4 for it to fit right? Schucks only has 2 1/4, and a 3" coupling piece. I didn't check AutoZone though.

Winter, the problem is, the new downpipe I got, is the same diameter as the rest of the exhaust, my issue is getting them connected. I'm new at this and want to do it right the first time.

The downpipe is flared out at the end, but flared to 2.5 which is the same as the aftermarket rear exhaust.