• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Tire size without having to lift body??

John T. Hodgen

NAXJA Forum User
Hey Guys/girls,
Being a Newbie I have a question on what's the biggest wheel/tire combo that I could put on my 2000 xj without having to install a lift.kit? Right now I have Kumho Road Venture AT-p235/75r15's on it right now.
Just thought taller tires would help me wheeling the powerline rightaways. Any thoughts? What's the biggest rim size I should look for?
Thanks for your help and knowledge in this matter!!!!
Til later by the fire---John T.

you're definitely going to need a body lift to fit anything bigger than stock.

That is a good size. 30" will fit, though it will possibly rub with flex. You want to keep 15" rims. 325/75R15 is generally accepted to be the largest you will fit without any problems at all. I used this size at stock height for a long time, and for a while at 3", with good results.

And don't forget to take the load into consideration.

I am 6'4" and LARGE, my lovely Wife is no twiggy either. With us in the front and the dog and camping gear we would rub 31s when at stock height. I went 4.5" front and 5.5 rear and can flex it out without rubbing, and that is just the way I like it.

Play nice - he said he was a noob!

John - you're not going to be able to lift the body on the XJ - it's a unibody, and the "frame elements" are welded to the body.