• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Cracked exhaust header = Overheating?

menos

NAXJA Forum User
I've been fighting an overheating issue for a couple of years now. The entire cooling system is new (last 6 months). I will only overheat if the outside air temp is over 93F. The hotter it is outside the faster it will overheat, but yesterday it was 99F and it took about 5 minutes of highway driving to get it up to the red. I can keep it out of the red if I keep the A/C off and keep moving. I also have a few other symptoms but I don't know if they are related.
-Very poor gas mileage (10-12mpg)
-Strong gas/unburnt exhaust smell
-Black ring around tailpipe with a day of cleaning it off

Power on the truck is good, no problems getting up and moving even on 31s and stock gearing.

I do have a cracked exhaust header that I plan on replacing in the near future. I can see a crack at the collector and the last time I seafoamed it, smoke poured from that location.

Is a cracked header enough to overheat the engine bay and cause the engine to overheat?

The only other possibility I can think of is that I have a blown head-gasket that only rears its head when the engine is totally heat soaked.

The engine only has about 60k on it (junkyard pull), but the swap was done before I owned the truck so I don't know any of the history of the engine.

I do have a temp gauge and a cooler on the tranny so I know its not that.