• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Trouble getting flex out of RE 5.5" leafs

outlander

NAXJA Forum User
Just got back from fork lift flexing the jeep at work...
The rear just wont flex.My 35's arent even close to tucking and the leaves still had positive arch to them.The leaf/shackle bolts are torqued properly and shocks are the right size(I think,next time I'll disconnect them to rule them out)What else could be holding the rear back from articulating???
Rear sway bar is long gone so thats not it either.....My shackle angle is not the best but would that keep it from flexing?

I have no experience with RE leaves but is there any chance you just need to put some miles on this set up to let things soften up some? That is assuming your leaves are brand new.

Just got back from fork lift flexing the jeep at work...
The rear just wont flex.My 35's arent even close to tucking and the leaves still had positive arch to them.The leaf/shackle bolts are torqued properly and shocks are the right size(I think,next time I'll disconnect them to rule them out)What else could be holding the rear back from articulating???
Rear sway bar is long gone so thats not it either.....My shackle angle is not the best but would that keep it from flexing?

I had very poor flex out of my re4.5's with stock shackles, proper shackle angle fixed things up got flex and droop.

This lift is a few years old so I would say the leaves are broke in?

Shackle angle is worse than vertical...why the hell would RE sell a system that ends up with such crappy shackle angles is beyond me....